Kinging in chess how do you castle

Sign up using Facebook. The King cannot castle on this turn but as long as White does not move the King to get out of check it may be possible for White to castle on a later move. If you prefer to orient the pieces having castled, go for it. If the King is in check it cannot castle out of check. Here, white cannot castle to his queenside because the king would have to move over square 'd1' where the red ' X ' is on its way to 'c1'.

How to Castle in Chess?

Sorry, its too late. Yes, there are some other rules to castling that control not so much as how you can castle, but whether if you can castle at all or not. Yes, if there are no other pieces in between the king and the rook. Use your opponent's pieces as a guide. If the rook is threatened, you're still permitted to castle. We'll move the king first, and then the rook. But we're still not done learning how the pieces move, as there a few special moves that some of the pieces can make that are out of the ordinary.

Use castling as part of a coordinated offensive strategy. Play cautiously and read the board always before deciding to castle.

Which is how you should do it, as well. Upload a picture for other readers to see.

One per customer per game, please. By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service , privacy policy and cookie policy , and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

The first one we're going to look at is castling , and to do that, we're going to first set up the pieces in the initial starting position and look at a common opening move sequence. This special move is the only time you can move two pieces in the same turn.

The only difference is the rook moves a little farther in queenside castling. And yes, there's a queenside castling castling in the opposite direction with the other rook as well. In the same move, you'll pick up the rook on that side and move it to the space the king moved through to get to its new position. You can't. Square 'd1' is covered by the black bishop on 'g4'.